Ms. G's Blog of Links
for 4th grade students

My dear past fourth graders/current fifth graders of Desert Hot Springs,

First off, I would like to tell you how much I miss my Cabot Yerxa family. This means both the staff, and you, my past students. You are now the head of the school, and I know you’ll be the best role models to show the rest of the school how caring, honest, respectful, responsible, and fun-loving they should be.

I officially moved to Colorado a month ago. It was really hard to leave California. The sun shines daily, but we have these crazy things called clouds. With that, it has rained with thunderstorms quite often. Very different from the desert you live in. It’s also funny because everyone here thinks that high 90 temperatures is miserably hot, when you desert folks know that 100 is just the start of hot! I’m afraid of the snow this winter. I think I’ll freeze. The mountains to the west are even taller than Mount San Jacinto, and tons of people climb them often! Colorado Springs is about the size of the entire Coachella Valley (Desert Hot Springs to Coachella).

I know when school ended in June, I gave my homeroom class a school name to contact me at. Since then, I’ve been offered and accepted a different job out here. I now teach 6th grade math at Galileo School of Math and Science. Here is the school website , and on that site you can find my new email. If you don’t have email, you can always regular mail (the address is on the website). If you write, I will write back. I have not forgotten you.

Today was my first day of school, and let me tell you, that a class in middle school goes fast! Each class is 52 minutes with 3 minutes to get to your next class. My new students have seven classes including band, robotics, and broadcasting. The teachers and students are all very happy and positive. There is a lot of teamwork, so things are much easier for me as “the new kid”.

Be good to your fifth grade teachers. They are there to help you succeed.

I’ve attached a picture of my dad and I on top of Pike’s Peak.

Sincerely,

Ms. Goodwin

No Responses to “My dear past fourth graders/current fifth graders of Desert Hot Springs,”

Leave a Reply

